Covering BREAKING news!

At about 6:30 last Friday night, Sept. 13, an explosion occurred at my school right before our high school football game. As an aspiring journalist, my brain went into hyper-speed.

All at once I was preoccupied with writing a breaking news update for The Feather, taking photos of the aftermath, interviewing witnesses and collecting video footage. Together, while working on our phones, my editors and I were able to publish a story before any local news stations arrived on scene.

Even though the explosion was an unfortunate event, I’m blessed to have the experience of covering live breaking news.

For more information on the story, read The Feather’s Sept. 13 article, BREAKING: Explosion occurs on North Field, 6:30 p.m. (UPDATE, VIDEO).

Also, watch the video I made with a collection of footage we were able to collect from witnesses.

Explosion, Sept. 13 (VIDEO) from The Feather Online on Vimeo.

I absolutely love being able to photograph my high school football games. Not only does it help me practice as a photographer, but I experience the game from all points of view, including the sidelines and stands.

These are just a few pictures from last Friday night, Sept. 13.

hunter

 

cheer