Day 1: The Dynamics

After arriving at the Arizona State University (ASU) Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, students of the High School Journalism program checked in to Taylor Place for their housing arrangements, June 4.

Our* schedule has kept us busy all day with classes, meals and meetings. Eager for an early start, my roommate Justine and I awoke at the early hour of six a.m. to prepare for the day. Breakfast started at 7:30 a.m. and we were busy all day until the end of dinner at about 6:30 p.m.

One of the most interesting aspects of the first day of the programs were the class dynamics. In my class, the Digital Media group, most of us are layed-back and mellow. While I have noticed the Broadcast students tend to be much louder and crazy.

As a journalist, I’m naturally observant. So, watching as the group dynamic form has been interesting to watch. The Digital group seems to be open, all mingling with each other, while the Broadcast group seems to be more exclusive.

Some of the people I have met have fascinating personalities. Here are a few that I felt deserved a little recognition.

  • Justine (my roommate) is Captain of her cheerleading team. She is in the Broadcast group, and hopes to attend college in Arizona. She loves cartoons and when she is alone or bored she speaks in a British accent (it’s good, I’ve heard it). Also, she has a Spongebob pillow that she cannot sleep without.
  • Nathan is in my Digital Media group. He is an assistant coach for a college basketball team. Therefore, he will receive a full-ride to a college of his choice. Also, he is from Missouri.
  • Gabby is in the Broadcast group. She is fluent in both Spanish and English. When we were watching an interview with a Spanish-speaking woman, she was able to understand the real audio as well as the voiceover at the same time.
  • Becca Smouse (I had to include her awesome last name) is in the Digital Media group. Both her parents are biologists and she has competed in many science fair. She’s pretty smart. She wants to go to University of California, Berkeley after she graduates in 2013.

These are just a few of the people that I’ve talked to in these past two days. I’m looking forward to meeting and getting to know even more of my peers here.

*All 38 ASU HJI students

Leave a Reply

